Impressive List Of Orange Cap Winners In IPL


IPL Orange Cap Winners List is a compilation of the top run-scorers in the Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. The list includes the players with the highest batting average in each season of the IPL.

The IPL is a hugely popular league, and the Orange Cap is one of the most coveted awards in Indian cricket. The first edition of the IPL was held in 2008, and the list spans over 10 seasons. You can check latest news about IPL via cricket news taja to stay updated.

2008: Shaun Marsh

The IPL Orange Cap is an award given to the player who has scored the most runs in a single edition of the Indian Premier League. The award was first introduced in the 2008 season.

The inaugural winner of the award was Shaun Marsh, who scored 616 runs for Kings XI Punjab. Since then, the Orange Cap has been won by a number of different players, including Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers.

2009: Matthew Hayden

2009 was the year that saw Aussie great Matthew Hayden take out the Orange Cap for the most runs in the tournament. Heading into the final round, Hayden was only 7 runs behind Shane Watson’s record, but a blistering century in the first innings against Delhi gave him the record and saw him finish the tournament with 572 runs.

2010: Sachin Tendulkar

The 2010 IPL season was the third edition of the Indian Premier League and saw Sachin Tendulkar win the Orange Cap for the first time in his career. The Mumbai Indians batsman scored 553 runs in 16 matches, averaging 46.08 and striking at a rate of 119.81. He also hit four centuries and three half-centuries, with the highest score of 100 not out.

2011: Chris Gayle

The fifth and final Orange Cap winner on our list is Chris Gayle, who achieved the feat in 2011. The Jamaican cricketer, who was playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the time, scored a total of 608 runs in that year’s tournament. This included an impressive knock of 175 not out against the Pune Warriors India, which is the highest score by a batsman in an IPL match to date.

Gayle’s accomplishments that year helped him to cement his place as one of the greatest T20 batsmen of all time, and he was rightfully awarded the Orange Cap as a result.

2012: Chris Gayle

In 2012, the Orange Cap was awarded to Chris Gayle of the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gayle had an incredible year, scoring 733 runs in just 15 matches. His average was an impressive 61.08, and he struck the ball at a rate of nearly 150 runs per 100 balls faced. He also hit a record-breaking 10 sixes in a single inning!

2013: Michael Hussey

In 2013, the title of Orange Cap went to Chennai Super Kings batsman Michael Hussey. Hussey was instrumental in CSK’s run to the final that year, scoring 733 runs in 16 matches at an average of 52.35. His highest score of 95 not out came against Rajasthan Royals in the semi-final, as CSK went on to win by 32 runs.

2014: Robin Uthappa

In 2014, the Orange Cap was awarded to Robin Uthappa of the Kolkata Knight Riders. Uthappa had an incredible season, scoring 660 runs in 16 matches at an average of 46.66. His top score of 87 not out came against the eventual champions, the Mumbai Indians.

Uthappa’s consistency throughout the season was a major factor in the Knight Riders’ successful campaign, as they finished second in the league stage before going on to lose to the Kings XI Punjab in the semi-finals.

Despite their semi-final exit, Uthappa’s performances throughout the tournament earned him widespread praise and cemented his place as one of the IPL’s all-time greats.

2015: David Warner

In 2015, Australian batsman David Warner took home the Orange Cap after scoring 562 runs in just 12 matches. Warner’s impressive batting average of 56.20 was enough to see him finish ahead of second-placed Hashim Amla of the Kings XI Punjab.

2016: Virat Kohli

In 2016, the Orange Cap was awarded to Virat Kohli of the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kohli had an outstanding season, scoring 973 runs in 16 matches with an average of 81.08. He also hit 4 centuries and 7 half-centuries, cementing his status as one of the best batsmen in the world.

2017: David Warner

The 2017 season was dominated by Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner. The left-handed opening batsman scored 641 runs in 12 matches at an average of 58.27, including four half-centuries and a top score of 126 not out. Warner’s form was instrumental in Sunrisers Hyderabad’s run to the IPL final that year.

2018: Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson of the Sunrisers Hyderabad took home the Orange Cap in 2018 with a total of 735 runs from 17 matches. He was closely followed by Chennai Super King’s Ambati Rayudu, who scored 602 runs in 16 matches. Williamson’s season included 9 half-centuries and 1 century, with the highest score of 117 not out.

2019: David Warner

Next on our list is David Warner, who won the Orange Cap in 2019. He’s a left-handed opening batsman and is currently the vice-captain of the Australian national team.

In 2019, Warner had an exceptional year, scoring 692 runs in 12 matches with an average of 69.2. He was also the leading run-scorer in the IPL that year, helping his team reach the playoffs.

Warner is a very talented batsman and has been consistently performing well for both his club and country. We’re sure he’ll be in contention for the Orange Cap again in the future!

2020: KL Rahul

Last, but certainly not least, we have KL Rahul. The Indian batsman had an outstanding 2020 season, scoring 670 runs in 14 matches. He was named the Orange Cap holder for the second year in a row and helped his team, the Kings XI Punjab, reach the playoffs.

2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad, an uncapped player dominated the IPL season of 2021 with 635 runs with his bat scoring 4 half-centuries and 1 century of 101*. He was bought by CSK in the IPL auction and he performed brilliantly and batted at an average of 45.35 with a strike rate of 135 which was absolutely impressive. 

2022: Jos Buttler

Looking ahead to the 2022 season, we have a new name at the top of the list: Jos Buttler. The English wicket-keeper batsman had an incredible season, scoring 548 runs at an average of 54.8. He was a key part of Rajasthan Royals’ successful campaign and will be looking to build on that form in the coming years.


IPL Orange Cap Winners List: A Comprehensive History is a great resource for anyone interested in the history of the IPL Orange Cap winners. The author does a great job of providing a comprehensive list of all the winners, as well as a brief description of each one.

Related Articles

Back to top button