How to Introduce the Chakra System to Kids?

Teaching children the chakra system can be difficult, especially since chakras are not visible to the naked eye. This can make it hard to describe what they are and how they work, since children aren’t able to see with their own eyes how each chakra works individually and together in balance. However, there are many creative ways you can introduce your child to the chakra system and help them understand how to keep all of their energy centers functioning properly over time.

What are Chakras?

The chakras are energy points that lie along our body’s energy pathways, known as nadis. There are seven main chakras; they run from bottom to top and can be activated through visualization or meditation. Once active, they’ll help us fulfill our goals and dreams in life.

Which One Is My Primary Focus?

Your chakras are found in your spine. The first one is at about your naval and goes up to about your mid-back. The second is around your lower back, third just above that, fourth on either side of your abdomen and fifth at navel level. Which chakra do you think is primary for children? How do you know? What happens if a child neglects his or her chakras? How can parents help their children keep all of their chakras healthy?

The Root Chakra – Let Go

This chakra is related to our root system and how we connect with our physical surroundings. If it’s unbalanced, we can feel stuck or not grounded in our lives. To help kids establish a healthy first chakra, try showing them how their feet are always touching the ground. How do you know? Because if you lift your foot off of a surface and try to put it back down, your foot comes right back down!

The Sacral Chakra – Listen to Your Body

The first chakra governs all that is related to life on earth. It represents our sense of belonging, physical intimacy, self-esteem and control over our lives. When it’s healthy, we feel grounded in reality and connected with those around us.

The Solar Plexus – Love Yourself First

The solar plexus chakra is all about self-esteem and how you feel about yourself. Whether or not you believe in chakras, you can use them as a way to remind kids that they need to love themselves first and foremost, before they can love others. You can talk about how loving ourselves helps us take better care of our bodies, which helps us fight off illness. Teaching children that they should love themselves can help them accept who they are and treat themselves well both physically and emotionally.

The Heart Chakra – Be Kind and Loving

The heart chakra is located in your chest, and is linked with your physical, emotional, and spiritual health. The color associated with it is green, and its related minerals are emeralds and jade. This chakra governs love; when it’s out of balance, you may feel emotionally disconnected from those around you—especially loved ones. Working on building a strong connection between yourself and others will help open up your heart chakra.

The Throat Chakra – Use Your Voice

The throat chakra is aligned with speaking your truth, as well as your ability to accept or reject new ideas. When you’re in balance, it’s easier for you to clearly communicate what you want and need from others. The throat chakra also encourages clear communication with yourself—the ability to not only hear your own inner voice but listen closely enough so that you can tune into when it’s trying to tell you something.

The Third Eye Chakra – Trust in Self-Worth, Not Others’ Opinions

Whether they’re kind or cruel, your peers’ words can be tough on kids. By introducing your child to their third eye chakra, you can help them establish healthy self-esteem by learning to trust in their own abilities and feelings, rather than in what others think of them. In fact, you can start teaching children about their third eye chakra when they’re very young – while they’re still young enough for some puppet fun!

The Crown Chakra – Master Your Energy

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head. It’s associated with a number of things including supreme consciousness and pure energy. Your crown chakra governs your energy flow, so if it’s not working properly, you might feel lethargic and out of balance.

Related Articles

Back to top button